Lamar Graphic Design Blog

Lamar University's Graphic Design Department Blog

Postcard Project

This project was created for Graphic Design I. It is designed to give students the opportunity to consider the difference between print and digital mediums. The students were asked to create printed postcards and create a digital version as an animated gif. Students then had to mail the postcards both printed and digital and write an essay about their experience.

Here is one full project outcome in detail. Work by Melissa Maddox.

Beaumont

FortDavis

FortWorth

Postcard

Screen shot 2012-12-09 at 6.09.52 PM

Screen shot 2012-12-09 at 6.10.23 PM

Essay:

The Medium is the Message

“I fear the day that technology will surpass our human interaction. The world will have a generation of idiots.” Albert Einstien

In the postcard project we perused in class, I was much more responsive to the physically printed part over the digital media versions. I have always had a deep infatuation with mail, especially the very few that were personally addressed to me growing up. Now most of my mail consists of ads for the local grocery store and bills, but the few times a month when I receive a personal letter or a card brighten my day. My fiancé and I have been long distance for almost three years now and we send each other mail along with phone and Skype calls because it is more expressive and personal than just a verbal conversation.

I feel that as a society, we rely completely on our devices to communicate instead of actually communicating. We spend more time checking our Facebook’s, Twitter’s, and email than actually having conversations with others. The letters that I have saved are not lost spoken words, or a saved messages file on my email, they are special physical gifts that I will cherish forever. Anyone can just forward a cute e-card they received in a matter of seconds, but actually spending the time and energy to mail something shows that the person actually cares. Although most mail and printed materials are seen in our contemporary society as a waste, Graphic Designers should not reject their impact. When used correctly they can leave a lasting impression on their audience, much more than a digital file can.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 10, 2012 by in Student Work.
