Lamar Graphic Design Blog

Lamar University's Graphic Design Department Blog

Addicted to Typography…and Jessica Hische by Nicole Elizabeth Quebedeaux

Screen shot 2013-06-17 at 9.46.51 AM

I have a borderline obsession with a designer (and her technique) that I’ve recently discovered: Jessica Hische. My name is Nicole Elizabeth Quebedeaux, and I am addicted to typography. And Jessica Hische.

But seriously, her style and aesthetic are everything that I could only dream about being able to embody or portray. Hische’s work is elegant, and even though I’m usually drawn to a more simplistic style, her complex and gorgeous EVERYTHING works so well together that it makes me want to explore a more intricate style in my own work. I think it’s the whole opposites attract thing… my style is simple, yet she creates intricate work. I hope Hische’s work will help inspire me when I get around to trying out a more complex style. If it doesn’t, maybe we can still be friends…

Screen shot 2013-06-17 at 9.47.02 AM

Any way, the thing I like most about Jessica Hische and her work is the personable quality. With her hand-lettering specialty, she literally integrates type specifically to work with the subject matter at hand, whether it’s designing book covers for classics or a project she recently worked on with Google featuring her designs and typography for silent films.  Both of which, I love (as if you couldn’t tell already). She started out lettering because, as a college student, she was too broke to pay for the good fonts/hire anyone to make one for her. As a broke (almost-free-can-see-the-light-at-the-end-of-the-tunnel-in-August) college student now, I can certainly see it from that point of view and I often take things into my own hands to create what I cannot afford. That way, it’s exactly to my high standards for each project and I don’t have to find something to “fit” the project; it’s made FOR the project at hand.

Screen shot 2013-06-17 at 9.47.18 AM

The fact that Jessica Hische 1. has such amazing letter forms and that 2. everything makes sense in her projects because of how she develops everything herself are the biggest reasons why I am obsessed with  admire her.

To learn more about Jessica Hische you can see her work on her site http://jessicahische.is/ or follow her on twitter @jessicahische.

To learn more about this author, Nicole Elizabeth Quebedeaux, you can view her work at http://www.behance.net/e_designs.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 17, 2013 by in Illustration, Student Writing.
